More on Grace

December 13, 2007 at 11:09 am (My ramblings)

I am doing my Bible study on grace and came across a quote from Andrew Murray which really stuck out to me. (Ok, it convicted me to my core!) It’s in a chapter titled Liberty and Legalism. I have shared many times here about my struggles with legalism. For me, keeping rules is my natural bent and I want to grow out of it. I want to be a woman of grace. I want to extend the grace that the Lord has so freely extended towards me. Here is what Andrew Murray wrote:

We may be seeking for our growth in a more diligent use of the means of grace, and a more earnest striving to live in accordance with God’s will, and yet entirely fail. The reason is, that there is a secret root of evil, which must be removed. That root is the spirit of bondage, the legal spirit of self-effort, which hinders that humble faith that knows that God will work all, and yields to Him to do it.

Ouch. Today, I will, by God’s grace, make a choice to be a woman of grace and mercy.

Leave a Reply

