Walking the Walk

December 10, 2007 at 10:55 pm (My ramblings)

I am in a Bible study on the book of 1 John and yesterday in class something really struck out to me and I wanted to share it.
In 1 John 1:6-7 says, “So we are lying if we say we have fellowship with God but go on living in spiritual darkness; we are not practicing the truth. But if we are living in the light, as God is in the light, then we have fellowship with each other, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, cleanses us from all sin.”
The word translated “living” in these verses is a Greek word that literally means “walking continuously.” It has it roots in the Old Testament concept of “walking” in God’s Word and His ways instead of ungodly counsel. This speaks of our lifestyle, how we think and act every day. If the consistent patterns of our life reflect spirtual darkness, then we do not truly have fellowship (koinonia) with God and we are not living in His light.
Here are some practical questions that we can ask ourselves:

  • Do the consistent choices I am making reflect an understanding of God and His ways?
  • Do my daily thoughts, attitudes and actions demonstrate a desire to purge sinfulness and pursue righteousness in my life?
  • Is there a hunger in my heart to grow in my love for God and the expression of His love through me?

I know for me, I need to ask myself these questions on a daily basis. How about you?

3 Comments

  1. timbob said,

    Greetings. I John is a great book for self-evaluation and discernment. Not to mention incredible comfort. As you mention, our fellowship is a continuous process and how we live is who we are. Thus “walking continuously.” Verse 7 is a favorite.

    Thanks also for commenting earlier on the report that I was so rejoicing in the Lord over that I had to place it into a post. Truly the gospel of Jesus Christ isn’t with the wisdom of this world, but in power. Initially, I thought that CR was just a program that Riverside Church was doing. Praise God that it’s so much larger. Praise God for every saint that has come into the kingdom through it and will come in the days ahead.

    Have a blessed day in Jesus

  2. Anonymous said,

    Hey there Rachel,

    It is clear the Holy Spirit is guiding you in his Word. I pray God will use you in Guatemala or where ever you go. May your words have the power to bring freedom and strength to many.

    BTW, sorry you couldn’t open the slide, i will try again.

    DulceDiana
    http://diana2006.wordpress.com/

  3. stevesch said,

    I have problems with my thinking as I was diagnosed Manaic Depressive. I get into this thought-sin-guilt loop that leads to a thought-guilt-thought-guilt loop. I get into spiritual warfare with the enemy where he tries to make me worship him rather than God. I know because I worship the enemy that I am walking in spiritual darkness, but I just can’t seem to break out of these negative thinking patterns. Someone please help me break out of this sinful prison.

Leave a Reply

