Alabaster Jars

November 26, 2007 at 10:43 pm (My ramblings)

I was reading in Luke 7 this morning about the “sinful woman” annointing Jesus’ feet. I can picture the scene in my mind. Jesus is hanging out with the Pharisees eating dinner. This “sinful woman” finds out that Jesus is there and she goes to see Him. She risked being ridiculed and humiliated because she knew Jesus has something she desperately needed. She brought with her an alabaster jar of perfume. This jar would have been her dowry. In Biblical times, a family would purchase an alabaster jar and fill it with precious ointment (perfume, nard) and the size and value of the ointment would parallel her family’s wealth. When a man came to ask for her hand in marriage, she would take the jar and break it at his feet. This gesture showed him honor.
So here is Jesus hanging out and all of a sudden, this woman comes in and stands behind Him weeping and her tears begin to wet His feet. I can picture the jaws on the Pharisees hitting the floor! She then bends down and wipes His feet with her hair and kisses them as she pours out the perfume on them. This is an amazing display of reckless abandonement! She didn’t care what anyone thought about her, she didn’t care that everyone was whispering slanderous accusations about her. She wanted Jesus and she let nothing stop her from seeing Him. I can imagine the smell permeating the room where the Pharisees were eating. I wonder if the smell lingered for days after. It makes me think of what is in my own alabaster box. Is it the best perfume I have to offer Jesus? Is it full of my heart, my longings, my desires, my dreams? Have I come to the place where I am ready to break it open and pour it out on my Master’s feet? Am I willing to sacrifice all I have to Him who has sacrificed his very life for me?

2 Comments

  1. KreativeMix said,

    Another very poignant entry. Makes me think about my own alabaster and whether I have fully submitted to Christ.

  2. Scotti said,

    This is so beautiful, Rachel and one of my favorite stories in the bible. I wrote a poem about this woman and her faith on my blog if you want to check it out. It’s called “Go In Peace”.

    http://scotti.wordpress.com/2007/11/10/go-in-peace/

    May the peace of the Lord Jesus Christ be with you in all things.

    Scotti
    http://scotti.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

