The Tenderness of God

October 29, 2007 at 10:32 am (My ramblings)

I was doing my Bible study this morning and it really spoke to my heart so I wanted to blog some of it. In Isaiah 49:16 it says, “See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands.” I never thought too much about that verse but I just found out that the Hebrew word for engraved is chaqaq and it means to hack. This Hebrew word was used for the act of cutting or chiseling laws into tablets of stone. Isn’t that cool? To think that the Lord has our very names engraved, hacked in, carved in His hand, the very hands that He knew would be pierced as He was hanging on the cross, loving us to death, literally. I wonder if He was reciting our names as His precious blood poured forth from where the nail was. I picture Him whispering them, Rachel, Sherri, Chris, La Toya, Sandra, Courtney, Mario, Will. Can you picture it?
Another verse I was studying is Zephaniah 3:17, “The LORD your God is with you, he is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.” I know I have blogged about this verse before but it is one that needs to be repeated again and again. To think that the Creator of the universe delights in me is almost too much to bear. Quieting me with His love, as a Father quiets a child. Can you hear Him at times just saying, “Shhhh, it will be all right, Daddy’s here.” Then once He calms us, He begins to rejoice over us with singing. With singing! Amazing. How glorious is this God of ours! He is so loving toward us and I am just recently able to understand and believe it.
Yesterday in my Bible study for teen girls, I asked them all a question. I asked each one if they thought God was pleased with them. Only one said she thought He was a little pleased and all the others girls thought God was mad at them for things they have done. I cannot tell you how this grieved my heart! If I went through my life thinking that the Lord was mad at me, I think it would crush me. No wonder we don’t walk in victory! I explained that God hates sin and calls us to be obedient and tried to show them how much He loves them because they are His treasured possession. Most of them never stopped to think of the grace, mercy, love and tenderness of their Daddy. I hope I gave them a glimpse of how much He adores them.
Today I am going to try my best to let Him rejoice over me. I will walk in grace today and allow my Daddy to sing (and brag) over me. Does this sound weird to you? Too bad, it’s in the Bible. Read it.

1 Comment

  1. Sherri said,

    Thanks Rae, for these words of encouragement. I’m thankful our God is so loving, forgiving and kind and my Daddy! Praise His holy name! Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good; His love endures forever!!! Psalm 118:1.

Leave a Reply

