One Thing

October 25, 2007 at 9:50 am (My ramblings)

If there was one thing you could ask the Lord, what would it be? I can think of about a bajillion things I’d like to ask. Like, why on earth did He make lima beans? Disgusting! Well, I was reading in the Psalms this morning and in Psalm 27:4 it says, “One thing I ask of the Lord, this is what I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord and to seek him in his temple.” Of all the things David could have wanted from the Lord, he wanted to dwell in the house of the Lord and gaze upon His beauty. Wow. That really struck me this morning. To simply gaze upon His beauty. To bask in His presence. To just be near Him. To just be…
Not talking, not even praying, just being.
Today I pray that I won’t get so sidetracked with life that I forget to just stop and gaze upon His beauty.

1 Comment

  1. grace said,

    I just discovered your blog this evening. I’ve read the most recent posts and your testimony. Thank you and praise God for working through you to minister, share and encourage those of us who visit your blog. Seeing what your reading and what the Lord has said to you through His word encouraged me.

    Btw, I appreciated your restraint on getting a puppy. A selfless, responsible decision. With such consideration, when the time is right you’ll be a great dog mom. 🙂 However, if you might be interested in adopting a large, bounding dog with allergies, neuroses, an insatialbe appetite for shoes, medications, plastic and the like, who goes to the bathroom on the floor as soon as she comes in from being walked, has a head so empty that you can see daylight between her floppy ears, but who adores children and other dogs, let me know… LOL Meanwhile, how’s the fish?

Leave a Reply

