A New Thing

October 11, 2007 at 10:32 am (My ramblings)

I was reading this morning my Bible this morning and flipping page after page as verses kept coming to me. It’s so good to be back in the Spirit again. I didn’t realize how my hard heart was keeping me from hearing the Lord. I guess I, like Elijah, was expecting Him to show up amidst my earthquake! He was just waiting for me to quiet and still myself and get rid of the “commitee” in my head so he can whisper to me. One of the verses I read and pondered is:

Isaiah 43:18-19, Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past.
See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.
How fitting and timely for me. He knows just what I need and when I need it.
So tomorrow is my 42 birthday and I can’t believe I am really that old. I remember on my 40th birthday I called my mama just to make sure I was turning 40 and asked if she had somehow made a mistake on the birth certificate and maybe I was really turning 30. She assured me she knew when I was born. Rats!
I have decided to splurge this year and buy myself a present. I have been wanting to get a puppy but I am not sure because I won’t be able to spend lots of time with it which isn’t really fair. So, I am going to get a trick fish. Yep, you read that right, a trick fish. I am going to teach him some coll tricks, like how to do flips and stuff. I may even take the show on the road if he’s really good. I can’t wait, I even already have a name picked out, Bobby Ray, ain’t it cool?
Lest you think fish can’t learn tricks, I googled fish tricks and there is actually a fish school where they learn how to some really cool tricks.

1 Comment

  1. timbob said,

    Greetings. Indeed, the Lord makes all things new. Thanks for the verses in Isaiah. I needed it. Thanks also for the phrase “get rid of the committee in my head.” lol. I can relate all too well.

    I also noticed at the top of your last post the verse of I John 1:9. This verse means more to me than words can express. I was backslidden for several years until the Lord did a restoration in March of 2004. The enemy assaulted me with everything that one can imagine (he still tries) and I clung to this verse. (I still am) Praise God for continuing the good work that he has started in us.

    I tried to comment earlier but it must have become lost in the vacuum that resides between blogger and wordpress. So here it goes again. Have a blessed day in Jesus.

Leave a Reply

