Restoration

October 9, 2007 at 8:46 pm (My ramblings)

Restoration is always a good thing. Confession and repentance is good for the soul. I love 1 John 1:9, it was the second scripture I memorized after I gave my heart and life to the Lord. It is amazing when you stop and ponder the words:
If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and cleanse (or purify) us from ALL unrighteousness.
Not because we deserve it but because of His unfailing love for us. Not because of anything we have done, but because of what He has already done. Wow.
After spending the last few days on my face seeking the reasons for being in this valley, I am amazed and even more aware of how much the Lord loves me. One of my favorite verses that keeps coming back to me is Jeremiah 31:3, I have loved you with an everlasting love. It may not mean alot to you but to me, growing up not ever knowing I was loved, it means everything. I also love Jeremiah 1:5, before I formed you in the womb, I knew you, before you were born, I set you apart…
Double wow. It almost leaves you speechless.
All weekend I kept asking God for a word, a fresh word, a restorative word, any word, just give me a word! As I shared yesterday, it was, I have loved you with an everlasting love. Well, you’re supposed to, your God! Then this morning I was reading my Bible and doing homework for my Bible study and I really wanted to blog a little before work, so I stopped doing my homework and closed my Bible and went to grab my laptop off the table. Guess what happened. You got it, I still had some coffee leftover in the cup and it got knocked over and spilled all over my beautiful light tan colored carpet. After I cleaned it up, I apologized to the Lord for cutting Him short and I reopened my Bible and workbook. Take one guess what the next scripture I read and had to study was…Jeremiah 31:3. Funny how the Lord has to get our attention sometimes.
I bet He was just a sitting up in heaven thinking, what a special day this will be for my sweet, beautiful, princess (ok, ok, so maybe He didn’t say all that but…) cause boy have I got a word for her! It’s gonna blow her mind. Then He is there with all the angels pointing down at me and saying, Look, she’s almost to the scripture, look….oh no, what is she doing? No she did NOT just close her Bible and workbook. She begs me for days for a fresh word and just as I am going to give to her, she blows me off! Are you kidding me?
I know it sounds funny but that’s how I picture Him with me sometimes.

Leave a Reply

