What is it about Africa?

August 12, 2007 at 9:53 pm (Africa)

I can’t explain it. It’s a feeling deep in my soul. It reaches the innermost part of my heart. That secret place that no one gets to see. The place where long lost dreams and forgotten goals live. Sometimes, it wakes me from a sound sleep. I can see the beautiful faces and dark, lost eyes willing me to open mine. Willing me to come and make a difference. I can’t get the images out of my head. They are seared forever into my memory. How long? How long Lord will these innocent children have to suffer? I almost can’t breathe because I feel like my heart has been ripped out and it is breaking in two. Why do I have so much and they so little? How long until I can go back???

4 Comments

  1. shirley buxton said,

    Some things will never be understood. Your great gift to these people is your passion for their well-being.

    Bless you.

  2. Susan/Faith Walk said,

    Hello Rachel!
    I love reading your posts about Africa for I can truly relate. It gets in your heart and you are never the same. You will dream about going back and I pray the Lord will make it possible that you do!
    I praise God it was a wonderful experience for you!

    I have left a few comments that haven’t shown up…
    I hope you get this one all right.

    May the Lord Jesus bless you always! he is just so AWESOME!!!

    Susan

  3. (((((HUGS))))) sandi said,

    This is really beautiful! Saying a prayer for a return this minute! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  4. Sallie said,

    I felt the same way after my mission trip to the Philippines. I have not yet been called to go on another trip but I did help as the prayer coordinator for a Poland trip. I stepped out of my comfort zone and God really blessed me. Just listen to God and He’ll tell you where He wants you to serve now.

Leave a Reply

