26 more days!!!

June 24, 2007 at 7:23 pm (Africa, My ramblings)

I can’t believe it’s almost time to go to Africa! I know I am wearing everyone out but it’s my blog! I feel like there is so much to do yet and I know that before I know it, it will be time to go. I have been praying like crazy for the 21 teens and 6 leaders going on this mission trip. God is going to meet us there and use 27 ordinary people and in His power, enable us to do extraordinary things. I am so proud of these teens who had to raise almost $4,000! They did it! They sold everything from Krispy Kreme donuts to t-shirts and everything in between. I can’t wait till we come back and have the opportunity to share what the Lord did in and through us.
We are going to get to go from shack to shack to minister and share God’s love with the people there, how cool is that? Each one of the teens will get the chance to share their testimony as well, although I know they are nervous about it. We have a meeting next week and I told all of them to come prepared to share it with our team so pray they have the courage to do it! I know the first few times I did it, it scared the jeepers out of me but I know now that the more you do it, the easier it gets. That’s why I want them to practice it before we get to Africa. I acually need to work on mine as well and figure out what to share. The problem I have is cutting it down to only a few minutes. I love to share about what God has done in my life and is continuing to do, that’s wy I blog it all!
3 Comments

  1. dan ohlerking said,

    you just gave a very cool description of what short-term missions is about:

    “God is going to meet us there and use 27 ordinary people and in His power, enable us to do extraordinary things.”

    awesome.

  2. Susan/Faithwalk said,

    Rachel this is SO AWESOME that you are going to Africa! Now I have to catch up on your blog and find out the details. I will pray or you!

    Oh I tagged you for Five reasons why I dig Jesus today… just go to the post and follow the instructions if you don’t mind 🙂

    Blessings to you in Jesus love,

    Susan

  3. Mark Wilson said,

    Hi Rachel.

    I knew you were going to Africa, but I didn’t know it was SA.

    I lived in Cape Town (South Africa) until I was 27.

    Email me back about your trip please, I’d really love to know more. Maybe I can connect you to some local people if you’re going through CT.

    God bless!
    Mark.

Leave a Reply

