Something to Ponder

June 12, 2007 at 10:28 am (My ramblings)

I haven’t been able to get something out of my head all weekend so I am going to share it with you! We had a blood drive on Friday at church and some of us were hanging out and helping the Red Cross. When we have an event at church, we usually have a police officer there with us. It was a slow day so we talked with the officer quite a bit. He shared some really funny stories but I am regressing here. The point I wanted to make was that he shared he carries his gun 24/7, even when he is not working. He said no matter what he does or where he goes, he is always aware of what’s going on around him. He was running errands on his day off last week and actually witnessed a robbery! He was able to catch the robber and everything worked out and no one was hurt.
This man is an officer of the law. It is bred into him that he is to serve and protect. He is cop 100 % of the time. Not from 9-5, Monday thru Friday. That’s because it is who he is. He doesn’t flip a switch after work then he doesn’t care about protecting people anymore. I thought of how this compares to us Christians and I was honestly convicted of my attitude. Can you imagine if all Christians all the time went about life looking for the hurting, the lost, the sad, the broken and we were always aware of the pain around us, can you imagine what we could accomplish! If we were like the police officer always looking to see how we could be available and actually looking to bless someone? It blows my mind to think of the impact we could have.
I pray that today, I would be aware. Aware of anyone who needs the life-saving message of Christ. Aware of anyone who may just need a smile or a hug.

2 Comments

  1. maggie said,

    awesome thought!

  2. DulceDiana said,

    Hi there Rachel. God bless you.

    I think we understand our calling and purpose in being God’s hands and feet when we are taken through the healing process ourselves. We learn best by example right?
    I know I see people in a whole new light since I’ve started restoration. If I still walk around not touching people with God’s love even after my victory, now I still don’t know anything about grace.

Leave a Reply

