H-A-L-E-L-L-U-J-A-H!!!!!!!!!!!!

June 3, 2007 at 9:25 pm (Africa, My ramblings)

I just finished my last final and I feel like crying I am so happy!!! No school for the summer! It means I will graduate a little later but I think my sanity is worth it! Woohoo!!!
What a week! Yesterday we had our first team meeting with the teens and leaders who are going to South Africa on a mission trip this summer. It was so much fun. We did all the fun team-building activities and I love watching the different personalities meshing together. We got a good feel for who the leaders and who the followers are and that is always fun. During the team building activities it was fun for me (torture for them) to blind fold the leaders and make them not be able to talk! If only we could do that while in Africa!
I had to meet with the parents as well and make them feel comfortable with sending their kids with me. At the beginning of the meeting I was explaining to the parents that their kids will come back changed and they all clapped! It was hysterical! They said they couldn’t wait.
Now is the fun part of all the details. Shots and plane tickets and insurance, woohoo!
One of the things we did is ask each of the teens going what they thought their biggest challenge would be and most of them answered not having their IPods or video games. Amazing! They are not used to the quiet and I am grateful that after a few hours, all the batteries will be dead! One teen looked at me and smirked and told me he had a port so he could recharge the battery and it was all I could do to not laugh. I asked him where he was going to plug it in and he looked at me with absolute shock on his face! You should have seen the girls when we told them Teen Mania’s rules about no makeup, blow dryers or curling irons. It was so funny! I haev to admit when I read that we couldn’t take any makeup, I twitched a little too!
Anyways-The Lord is going to do mighty things in and through these teens. I have absolutely no doubt in my mind that they will never be the same after going. I know my life won’t be!

1 Comment

  1. timbob said,

    Greetings. It really sounds like this is going to be an awsome time of growing in the Lord for all. I find the response to “your kids will come back changed” quite hilarious. Thanks for the update. I will keep you all in prayer.

    Have a blessed day in Christ.

    timbob

Leave a Reply

