Hungry and Thirsty

May 27, 2007 at 1:04 pm (Africa, My ramblings)

Have you ever been so busy doing the Lord’s work that there is no time for the Lord of the work? I’m not talking about not reading His word or praying, I am talking about the intimate fellowship of just being together. Just being in the presence of Daddy receiving His love. Just listening to His voice, just being still. Wasn’t it just a few weeks ago that I blogged about taking Sabbath yet here I am, finally, after several weeks, taking a much needed rest?
I was reading Psalm 84 this morning and I so identify with it.
How lovely is your dwelling place, O Lord Almighty. My soul yearns even faints for the courts of the Lord, my heart and my flesh cry out for the living God.
In Psalm 42 it says, As the deer pants for streams of water so my sould pants for You, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God?
In Psalm 63, it says, O God, You are my God, earnestly I seek You, my sould thirsts for You, my body longs for You in a dry and weary land where there is no water.
I am not in the desert like David was but boy am I thirsty. Not just for the Word, but to know Christ. I mean really know Him. To have the mind of Christ. To love like Christ does. To see the world through His eyes.

I have decided to take a semester off from school. It has been 2 years and I am burned out. Working fulltime in ministry and going to school fulltime is getting harder and harder. I really want to prepare my heart for my trip to Africa and I don’t want to be thinking about schoolwork. I want to be spiritually, emotionally and physically prepared for what the Lord is going to do through our team. I want to be available to the 23 teens we are taking because I know this trip will be life-changing, not only for me, but most importantly, for them.

1 Comment

  1. Maggie said,

    Yup. But, I don’t feel guilty about it anymore. I sense the picture of a spiritual battlefield, and myself at a soldier. When God pulls me back and brings me home, then I can rest…until then, I work hard with his “working presence” beside me, hashing the assignment out.

    Until the grace is there, I feel at peice going at the pace, but I always know when it’s time to refresh! I hope you find “that special place”. May you be filled.

    Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

