I survived BattleCry!

May 15, 2007 at 10:25 am (My ramblings)

The picture is of our shirts that we all wore. Ain’t it the coolest?? One of the youth interns designed it and we had them made for everyone. GodTV was there filming and they saw us (how can you miss 100 people wearing the same cool shirt!) and asked us to come to the front of the stage, which was way cool! If you get a chance to watch it on GodTV, make sure you look for us!
What an awesome weekend! I can’t believe I survived to tell about it. I think there was something like 16,000 people there. The speakers were great and very challenging and the music, for the most part, was awesome. Ron Luce has an incredible heart towards the teens in this generation and I can understand why. It is so heart-wrenching to think of the things they are struggling with. When I was a teen, I had my own struggles but they are no way near what these teens have to go through with today. The media is stealing their innocence and trashing their minds.
It’s so amazing how the Lord speaks to us if we just listen to Him. Here I was at this event to help with these teens and I was convicted! I felt like the Lord was challenging me. Ron Luce was talking about our relationship to the Lord. Are we a seeker, student or stalker? It was such a great message. I want to be a “God stalker.” I want to pursue Christ and I want to pursue righteousness and holiness. Ron focused alot on the media and music we listen to. Tye Trippon was a cool dude and he also challenged us about what we are watching and listening to. So many people don’t realize that what we watch and listen to go downs to the depths of our soul.
I became a Christian in 2001 and when I did, I stopped listening to secular music, reading non-Christian books, and quit TV cold turkey. My past consisted of a lifestyle of drugs, alcohol, immorality and many other things that I made the decision back then to not look at anything that did not feed my spirit. (click on my testimony in the side bar under labels to read my full testimony)
During the last year, I started renting some tv shows from Blockbuster. I had knee replacement surgery and was home for quite awhile. I heard so many things about 24 so I rented it and I got addicted. I love Jack! At first, I had a check in my spirit because there was so much violence. After watching a few episodes, the spirit check went away. My heart was heardened and I thought to myself, well, it’s not that bad, right? I also started to watch CSI, all of them. The orginal one, NY and Florida. I love anything forensic and I love to learn but I gotta tell you, I got lots of checks in my spirit about watching these. I told myself that is was ok because there were no commercials to infiltrate my mind, but in all honesty, many of the episodes carried storylines that had to do with very ungodly things.
When I came home Sunday from BattleCry, I renewed my convenant with Him to not watch anything that was not honoring to Him. I canceled my Netflix subscription and prayed that He would help me get back on track. Some call me crazy but I don’t care. Some call me legalistic but I don’t care. I don’t want to put anything unholy in me and if people call me names because of it, I say bring it on!
We all only have a certain amount of time each and every day and I choose to sow my spirit not my flesh. You can’t serve 2 masters, you can’t live with one foot in the world and one out of the world, you can’t watch tv shows and movies and listen to secular music without it effecting you. I have lots of friends that tell me that watching a few shows at the end of the day helps them to unwind and unplug and after all, what harm can come from it. My biggest issue with it is that I hear over and over how people don’t have the time to read the Bible or pray but they have time to watch Lost or Survivor every week. We wonder why we struggle with things and the answer is clear. How much time do you spend feeding your soul with the things of God? How much time do you spend feeding your flesh with the things of the world? Everything we put in ourselves will be life or death. If it ain’t feeding your spirit or glorifying God, then it is death. I am not legalistic in my thinking about the media, what I am is a Christ follower who will not allow the world to influence my thoughts or my behavior.
I don’t mean to condemn but to challenge you like I was challenged this weekend. Can you imagine what the world would be like if Christians started to choose holiness and stopped spending our money to support wordly things? If we read the Bible every day and studied it and actually put into practice what it says to do? We would have revival like never before. We can change the world. We do have a voice. We have the power. Will you pick up your cross today?

2 Comments

  1. DulceDiana said,

    I thought it would be interesting for you to check out:
    http://stuartdelony.wordpress.com/2007/05/13/battle-cry-a-mixed-messge/

    God bless you!

  2. timbob said,

    Greetings. Sounds like an awesome weekend in which the Lord did an awesome work. I like the comment about beiong a God “stalker.” It reminded me of Psalm 63:8. Actually the entire 63rd Psalm is a favorite. Thanks for posting. Keeping you and all in prayer.

    Have a blessed weekend in Christ.

    timbob

Leave a Reply

