Loving God

April 21, 2007 at 12:35 pm (My ramblings)

I woke up this morning and like most mornings, I love to lay in bed and begin my day with thanking God. (Lest you think I am super spiritual, I am also waiting for my coffee to be brewed!) Anyways, I often think about how thankful I am that God loves me so much. I think we know it in our heads but do we really know it and believe it in our hearts? Do we really believe what it says in Zephaniah 3:17, the Lord your God is with you, He is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, He will quiet you with His love and He will rejoice over with you with singing. Can you imagine that? Hallelujah! God loves me and you so much that He is singing over us!
I have been spending some time in Ephesians lately and I get so excited when I read this:
“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ. For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight. In love he predestined us to be adopted as his sons through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will— to the praise of his glorious grace, which he has freely given us in the One he loves. In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace that he lavished on us with all wisdom and understanding.”

I am blessed, chosen, adopted, accepted, redeemed and forgiven! Does life get any better than that? Me, the worst of sinners like my buddy Paul, who da thunk it? Who knew that in my most difficult struggles, when I didn’t know Christ, that He had already chosen me? Who knew that when I was trying so hard to kill the very life He formed that I would one day bow my knee to Him who sits on the throne? Who knew that when I drove off the side of a 15 foot cliff because I was too drunk to drive that I would walk away with not one scratch on me? Who knew that when I woke up in the ICU in the hospital on life support from an overdose that I would one day be holy and blameless? Who knew that I would travel to the nations and share the Gospel with any who would listen? Who knew that all along there was a Jesus shaped hole in my heart that only He could fill?
Jesus! Jesus! Jesus! Jesus is always the answer!

I can’t help but end this with Psalm 73:25-26
“Whom have I in heaven but you? And earth has nothing I desire besides you.
My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. “




Leave a Reply

