Summer Missions to Africa

April 13, 2007 at 10:31 am (Africa, Missions)

Well, I guess I could share a little more about this! I was just so excited when I found out.
As many of you know, I have been praying about fulltime missions to Southern Africa. I believe the Lord is calling me to serve the AIDS orphans there, specifically in Swaziland, since they have the hightest AIDS rate.
I have been praying about it for 2 years and at first, I thought, there is no way I am going to Africa! I was concerned about raising money and actually doubted (yikes!) that I could get there. I have been praying radical prayers and believing that God is who He says he is and that He can do what He says He can do. Who am I to think that just ’causeI ain’t got any money, that I can’t fulfill God’s call on my life? Does He not own everything? If He calls me to go, won’t He call people to send me? yup and yup.
So, the youth group at church is going to South Africa in July and one of the leaders can’t go now so I prayed about it and asked if I could take her place and now I am going! How awesome is that?
This is more than a summer missions trip to me. I feel like God will confirm in my heart this call and I need lots of prayers. I will probably not want to come home. I think the other leaders will keep me on a tight leash knowing I could accidentally get left behind!!!

6 Comments

  1. Scotti said,

    Wonderful! God always provides and opens doors. May the Lord be with you every step of the way.
    Blessings,
    Scotti

  2. DulceDiana said,

    Hey this sounds like something our senior pastor always says…
    “What God orders he pays for!”

    May God confirm all things and give your heart’s desire for this trip!

    -Diana

  3. Mark Wilson said,

    Awesome! I was born in South Africa (I live in Australia now). 🙂

  4. Rachel said,

    I want to go to Australia too and New Zealand. When I was at a Teen Mania leader training seminar a few weeks ago, they said that New Zealand had the highest suicide rate. Is that true? Do you know why?

  5. Maggie said,

    Wow. Just catching up on your blog. How cool is this! You’re a great writer…thanks for the link love!

    Hope you’re feeling better.
    Maggie

  6. merrill5 said,

    Rachel,
    It’s so funny to ready your Africa ideas and the internal struggle you are having with the idea of going. IT’s like reading my own journal. It seems we’re in very similar paths, I’m just started a bit before you. I’ll be in swaziland with Children’s Cup in July. and who knows, you might be there sooner than you think.
    I’ll pray for your guidance
    christy

Leave a Reply

