The Spirit Filled Life

April 11, 2007 at 10:37 am (Faith, My ramblings)

I am reading the Best of AW Tozer and it is an awesome book. An excerpt from his book Divine Conquest has a chapter about being filled with the Spirit. I must admit that when I first came to know Christ personally, this wigged me out a little. I was confused and my knowledge of being “filled” with the Spirit brought images to my mind of people laughing uncontrollably , rolling around on the floor or being “slayed” in the Spirit. I have since learned that being “filled” with the Spirit is something we should all desire. I will share what AZ Tozer has to say about this because he very eloquently states it better than I.
He asks several great questions:
Are you sure you want to be filled with a Spirit, who will demand to be Lord of your life?
Are you willing to let your personality be taken over by another, even if that other be the Spirit of God Himself?
If the Spirit takes charge of your life He will expect unquestioning obedience in everything. He will not tolerate in you the self-sins even though they are permitted and excused by most Christians. By self-sins, I mean self-love, self-pity, self-seeking, self-confidence, self-righteousness, etc.

He goes on to write, before we can be filled the Spirit the desire to be filled must be all-consuming. We have as much of God as we actually want. One great hindrance is the theology of complacency… Religious contentment is the enemy of the spiritual life. Reminds me of James 4:2-3, “You do not have, because you do not ask God. When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.”

He continues with, The filling with the Spirit requires that we give up our all, that we undergo an inward death, that we rid our hearts of Adamic trash and open all rooms to the heavenly Guest. The Holy Spirit is a living Person, we should never think of Him as a blind energy or impersonal force. He hears and sees and feels as any person does. He speaks and hears us speak. We can please Him or grieve Him or silence Him. The Spirit’s present work is to honor Him and everything He does has this for its ultimate purpose. We must make our thoughts a clean sanctuary for His holy habitation.

I could on and on but I have to go to work! (go buy the book!) The bottom line for me is this, I want everything that God has for me.

Ephesians 5:18, …be filled with the Spirit.

1 Comment

  1. Aaron said,

    That’s a really striking dfescription. it really makes you want to go and seek God really. be being filled with the Spirit- thats the way one translation puts it. it makes a big difference I guess. in awe

Leave a Reply

