The Battle is the Lord’s

April 3, 2007 at 10:12 am (My ramblings)

I was reading in 2 Chronicles 20-30 this morning about King Jehoshaphat. The Moabites and Ammonites came to wage war on him. He immediately consulted the Lord and proclaimed a fast for all of Judah. All the people stood before the Lord seeking Him. The Spirit of the Lord came upon a man named Jahaziel and he stood up in front of everyone and said, “Do not be afraid or discouraged because of this vast army. For the battle is not yours, but God’s.” Oh how often we forget that! We think we are fighting on our own! We don’t fight with the weapons of this world! 2 Corinthians 10:4 says our weapons have divine power!
After Jehaziel gave them the Word from the Lord, listen to what the king and all the people did in verse 18, “Jehoshaphat bowed with his face to the ground and all the people of Judah and Jerusalem fell down in worship before the Lord.”
Fell down in worship, I had to chew on that one for awhile. When was the last time I was on my face before God? Not begging to be freed from something, not begging Him to give me something, simply worshipping Him for who He is!
Anyways, I just love how God fights the battle for them, it’s almost comical. I can picture the whole scene before my eyes and it makes me smile.
“Jehoshaphat appointed men to sing to the Lord and to praise Him for the splendor of His holiness as they went out at the head of the army saying, ‘Give thanks to the Lord for His love endures forever.’ As they began to sing and praise, the Lord set ambushes against the men of Ammon and Moab and they were defeated.”
Can you imagine the scene? The Moabites and Ammonites, ready for battle with their swords drawn, were probably thinking to themselves, “are you kidding me? are they singing?” I can hear Michael W. Smith singing the song in my head, by the grace of God we will carry on, His love endures forever, sing praise, sing praise!
I love how God goes before us and fights our battles for us. I love how He does the extraordinary to increase our faith in Him. How do you think the Israelites felt after this incredible victory was won by singing? Most importantly, how do you think the ememies of the Israelites felt knowing that their God had delivered His people with a song? We see how they felt in verse 29, “the fear of God came upon all the kingdoms… and the kingdom of Jehoshaphat was at peace.”
Amen and amen!

1 Comment

  1. Susan said,

    Great post and so true! How often we think we are doing something and the reality anything of any value comes from the grace of the Lord.
    I am enjoying perusing your site, you have some really good thoughts here.

    Blessings to you Rachel!

Leave a Reply

