Letter from Swaziland

March 29, 2007 at 11:50 pm (Africa, My ramblings)

I always love coming home and seeing a letter from my little girl I sponsor in Swaziland. Here is an excerpt of it:
“Since my father went missing and my mother died last year, I stay with my 2 brothers Bheki and Mancoba in my cousin’s homestead (I just love these names!) Because of being the only girl, there is no one similar to me. I am now in grade 3 and I think I will proceed to the next class next year.
There are 5 houses at my home, 4 made up of sticks and mud and 1 with cement blocks, 3 roofed with iron sheets and 2 with thatched grass.
I want to be a teacher when I grow up.
May God bless you what ever you do things.”

My dream is to one day be able to meet her. That would be so awesome! I would love her to be able to achieve her dreams, especially of growing up and becoming a teacher.
She lives in an area being ravaged by AIDS. 42 % of Swazi’s have it. That’s almost 1 in 2. The chances that I may actually get to meet her are rare but that doesn’t stop me from having hope. Hope that the Gospel will change this dark continent and bring it to repentance. Hope that this little girl and the other 14 million orphans will have a chance to see their 20’s or to have their own children.
While I was talking with the people at Teen Mania this past weekend, I was asked what my future plans were. I told them that I planned on changing the world. They looked at me kind of funny and asked me if I really believed that. I told them that yes, I did and with Jesus, I will change the world.
One life at a time, one orphan at a time.

Isaiah 61:1
“The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me, because the Lord has anointed me to preach good news to the poor. He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners…”


1 Comment

  1. Crystal Renaud said,

    have you seen “dear francis”?
    it is based in swaziland. a very moving documentary. shows similar things to what i did in port elizabeth, south africa.

    http://www.dearfrancis.org

    trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rltu7WNhsDk

Leave a Reply

