Women of Islam

March 17, 2007 at 6:29 pm (School)

I am taking a course in school entitled Christianity and the Islamic Faith and I am absolutely blown away at what I have been learning. I guess I have been naive about what is going on in other parts of the world and in other religions, even though I have been overseas several times.
I read a lot of books about martyrs and Christianity but I have been challenged to start reading books about other religions. How can I possibly be an effective witness for Christ and share His love with people I know nothing about!

I just finished reading a chapter on the women of Islam. They have absolutely no rights at all and they have to submit to men. They are not even allowed to look at them. Here are some of things they have to put up with.
They can’t wear nail polish or their fingers will be cut off. They are not allowed to wear makeup, pluck their eyebrows or cut their hair and they have to wear burqas, which is a garment that covers them from head to toe. If your arm accidentally gets uncovered, you can be killed! They are not allowed to visit male doctors, which causes many of them to simply die! They are not allowed in public unless it is Islam sanctioned and many of their homes have the windows painted black so no one can see them.
Islamic men think of women as so sub-human that even the Qur’an has no mention of where they go when they die. In Islamic heaven, men get to be eternally pleasured by women called houris, who are beautiful young women with transparent bodies. Every man who enters Jannah (paradise) is given 72 of these houris. Is it a wonder why these men want to be suicide bombers? It is the highest honor!
Oh I pray that God would intervene and that we as Christians would love these people into the truth and the Kingdom of God. I am so grateful that the Lord left us His word and that He is a God of love and compassion. I pray that my eyes will remain open and that I realize that the world is perishing. God give me the boldness and the courage to share your truth with everyone I meet!

2 Comments

  1. nettie said,

    Is this true in all countries? Sounds a bit extreme.

  2. Rachel said,

    Nettie, I was in shock when I was reading this too. In the fundamental Islamic countries, it is all true. We need to pray for them!

Leave a Reply

