Martyrs for the Cause

March 13, 2007 at 11:05 pm (Missions)

I was reading an article in this months Voice of the Martyrs magazine and came across a poem that Betty Stam wrote when she was only 18 years old. Betty and her husband John and their 3-year old baby, Helen Priscilla, were taken captive by Chinese Communist soldiers in December 1934 for preaching Christ and being missionaries. The first night in jail the baby cried and the guards wanted to kill her but a prisoner who was just released protested. The Communists demanded “your life for the baby’s” and the man was hacked to death in front of the Stam’s.
The Stam’s were executed shortly after but miraculously, their baby was rescued several hours later by a pastor and his wife who took her to Betty’s parents who were also missionaries in China.

I love to read the accounts of Christians who have given up all for the sake of Christ. It is so easy for me to read them and then think to myself that if I was in certain circumstances, I would die for Christ too, but would I really? Am I so willing to lay down all for Him and share what He has done for me? Could I really walk away from everything I know and love in my life if He said, “Come”? I used to quote Isaiah 6:8 all the time, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for me?” And I said, “Here am I. Send me!” But would I really? I hope and pray that I will.

Here is the poem Betty wrote:

Lord, I give up all my own plans and purposes
All my own desires and hopes,
And accept Thy will for my life.
I give myself, my life, my all
Utterly to Thee to be Thine forever.
Fill me and seal me with Thy Holy Spirit.
Use me as Thou wilt, send me where Thou wilt.
And work out Thy whole will in my life, at any cost,
Now and Forever. Amen.

Christian Martyr-one who chooses to suffer death rather than deny Jesus Christ or His work… Sacrifices something very important to further the Kingdom of God…
Endures great suffering for Christian witness…

Philippians 1:20 (KJV)
According to my earnest expectation and my hope, that in nothing I shall be ashamed, but that with all boldness, as always, so now also Christ shall be magnified in my body, whether it be by life, or by death.

Leave a Reply

