Baptism Celebration Week

January 25, 2007 at 2:58 am (Faith, My ramblings)

What an incredible week at my church. A few weeks ago, my pastor made an announcement that we would be having a Baptism Celebration. He challenged all the believers in our church to follow Jesus’ example of water baptism. 704 people took the challenge and over the next 4 days, we will be baptizing everyone. We got some serious revival going on in Gaithersburg, Maryland!!
We only have one baptistry so we had to rent 3 addtional ones. It was so awesome tonight. We had about 180 registered for tonight and it went much faster than I thought it would. The presence of God permeated every inch of our church and you couldn’t help but feel the excitement in the air. I had people who I have never met hug me and thank me and tell me how blessed they were by this celebration. I did not get to watch it because I was handing out the certificates and I can’t wait to find out how many people raised their hand for the altar call to accept Jesus as their Lord and Savior. Baptisms are an awesome time for non-believers to come and watch their friends or family get baptized so we usually have a lot of salvations.
It was hard to come home. I felt like I wanted everyone to hang out and break bread together like they did in the Old Testament. How cool would that have been!
I hope it doesn’t end after this weekend. I hope that everyone will continue in their obedience to the Lord and that they have a deeper hunger to want to know Christ more and more.
I can’t wait to hear all the incredible testimonies that will happen because of this.
We would never have been able to pull this off without our awesome volunteers who gave of their time and talents. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Leave a Reply

