Counting my Blessings-Part 1

December 23, 2006 at 1:48 pm (Faith, My ramblings, Testimonies)

I can’t believe that another year is almost over. What a year it has been. I am so grateful to the Lord for what He has done in my life this past year. Since I have been home recuperating from my knee surgery, I have had lots of time to think. I was thinking back to my life before Christ and how different it was compared to now. Not only because I am drug and alcohol free but because I truly have found out the meaning of joy and contentment. Is my life perfect? Not by any means but I am learning to be content in all things.
My life BC (before Christ) was a life full of despair and sadness. I struggled with depression for over 20 years and it amazes me that the Lord healed me from this affliction. It wasn’t a quick, painless healing. It was one that took several years of working my recovery program and going back to the broken areas of my heart and allowing Jesus to help me to sort through and process it all. It was difficult to have to go back and remember and feel the pain but that is the only way to deal with them and be free of the bondage of past hurts.
There are many things I am thankful for as this year ends. Over the next few days, I will write about them.

I am so grateful for my family. I have a beautiful mother and God has restored our relationship in ways that I would never have imagined. There was a time when my mom did not even know if I was alive or dead or where I lived. There were years of us not talking at all. Finally, we have an awesome relationship. I am thankful for all my brothers as well. I really put them through alot and I am grateful that we have a great relationship too. I am also thankful for my 2 nephews and 2 nieces. They are the most gorgeous children and the highlight of my life. My brother and sister in law are great parents and it shows in their kids.

What a blessing it was for me to be able to be in Bible college. This past year I took so many courses and learned so much about the Lord and His word. I also learned a lot about myself. I love learning and knowledge and I can’t believe that after almost failing high school (due to all the partying and skipping my classes) that I am Summa Cum Laude. I am amazed that everything I did in my past has not killed all my brain cells and the Lord redeemed and restored them.
I am grateful that I was allowed to lead my first mission trip to Peru this past summer as well. What an awesome experience. God did amazing things in each and every person on the trip and grew our faith and opened our eyes. We were able to be Jesus’ hands and feet and share His love and blessings with many people.
I am also grateful for having insurance and being able to have 2 knee surgeries this past year. I am hopeful that this partial knee replacement will bring about total healing and freedom from the pain I have plagued with for the last several years. I can’t wait to go hiking again and join the gym and work out pain free. I can’t wait to be able to just walk through a mall or walk around the block.
I am grateful for my friends. Friends who care about and love me and are there for me. Friends who encouraged me, wiped me my tears for me, hugged me and accepted me for who and what I am. They challenge me in my faith, call me out and question me when I make bad decisions (especially Tina 🙂 and genuinely care about y well being.
I am grateful for another year of sexual purity. It amazes me how the Lord blesses obedience in this area. Before meeting Jesus, I did not understand why sex outside of marriage was wrong but now I totally understand why the Lord commands that we remain pure. I now realize my worth as well and know that I am worth waiting for! I want to be cherished, loved and respected and the first way to have someone do that for you, is to cherish and love and respect yourself.

Leave a Reply

