To send or not to send…

October 29, 2006 at 12:44 am (Faith, Missions, My ramblings, School)

I am taking a missions class in school and this week’s homework is a forum. It’s a discussion based on the paragraph below. I wanted to get feedback from people about what they thought about the subject. Don’t worry, I am not trying to get you to do my homework, I already turned mine in. 🙂
Our country is in dismay spiritually. Every time you watch the news or read the news paper, another school shooting has occurred, another city has developed a larger population of homosexuality, or another symbol of Christ has been removed from the publics view because it may offend someone. The television shows and music in our society are driven by placing sexual themes in them to lure people to watch or listen. Why should we as a “Christian Nation” send missionaries to other countries when we choose to not be missionaries in our own country? Should we be more focused on being missionaries in the United States, or abroad? Discuss your standpoint on this topic and support your views with scripture references.

Any thoughts? Insights? Speculations? Post your comments…

3 Comments

  1. Karl said,

    wow! what a testimony. I found you on Dave Ohlerking’s blog and decided to go to yours, where I read your testimony. It certainly leaves no doubt, that our God is the only true God and that He cares for every one of us. Your testimony reminded me of the apostle Paul’s. Isn’t He wonderful? Whether you should go on a missions field far away or close at hand is between you and God, but don’t worry, He will lead you, you will have a blast, and He also promises to give you the desires of your heart. (Ps. 37:4)
    God bless you richly – Karl

  2. Anonymous said,

    Hello Rachel,
    I was just reading down through and this is how far I got. I’m getting blessed reading it, and I’ll have to come back another time for more. Praise God for the victory you have in Christ !!! Jesus won the victory at Calvary, and we’re sealed in Him, but there’s no doubt it’ a journey while we’re still on the earth in these frail bodies. You’re not out of the woods yet, but the days’a’comin’ sista.. hehe I’m still praying for you and will continue to.

    As far as the study question goes, the Jesus’ Great Commission from Matt. 28 sez we’re to be witnesses unto Him both in Jerusalem (your town) and in Judea (county maybe? or surrounding area) and unto Samaria (outside your local area) and unto the uttermost part of the earth.. that’s pretty all-inclusive. I guess we just need to be faithful where we are now, and buckle up and hold on, cuz we just never know what the Lord might do with us when we’re surrendered. The corporate Body is to take the gospel next door as well as throughout the world, but He has a different plan for each of us as individuals, and He’ll continue to light the path as we go forward in the light that’s already been given. I like to liken it to walking down a path with a lantern, and we can only see so far, but as we move forward, it is illuminated as we go. With that new knee, you’ll be movin’ down that path at a pretty good clip in no time.. hehe You’re quite a gal. Blessings to ya, Dave =0) aka Mister Salty

  3. Rachel said,

    Thanks for the insight Dave. I need all the prayers I can get. My knee is healing, although the recovery is taking longer than I want. Hopefully soon I will be skipping to my Lou!

Leave a Reply

