Hungry?

October 21, 2006 at 1:09 pm (Faith, My ramblings)

I have been pondering what my pastor said in church at Wednesday night’s service. His message was on Nehemiah and he was focusing on building spiritual walls. One of the points was, cultivating the right appetite. What are we hungry for? Truly hungry for? We need to be hungry for many things. Three things my pastor shared are these:

1. The Word
2. The presence of God
3. The people of God

We could list hundreds of things but I think these really sum it up. Here is another point that my pastor shared and I think this would have to go down as one of my biggest passions too:

“The focus of our hunger determines the direction or our pursuit.”

Now read it again, slowly. The question again is, what are you hungry for? Where is your focus? If you are having trouble figuring it, here an excercise you can do that will tell you where your focus is:
1. Look in your checkbook (where is your money going)
2. Look at where and how you spend your time (watching TV, shopping, talking on the phone, working out, primping)

Now look at the following:
1. Time you spend reading the Bible
2. Time you spend in prayer
3. Time you spend in God’s house
4. Time you spend serving people

I think I can pretty much say that the first list for most of us drastically outweighs the second list. This isn’t meant to condemn, it is simply a way to look at what our focus is and to challenge us to purpose to change the direction of our focus.

Matthew 5:6, Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness for they will be filled.
I don’t know about you, but I need all the filling I can get.

Leave a Reply

