The Lord delights in me!

October 19, 2006 at 10:11 am (My ramblings)

I am teaching a Beth Moore Bible study at church and was working on some homework, which included reading 1 Samuel 12:22. The Lord was pleased to make you His own. I had to stop and really ponder the meaning of that. I know the Lord loves me and that I am crafted in His very image but He is pleased with me as well? Wow. Let that sink in. He is pleased with me. Since I am a word freak I looked up pleased in the dictionary. Check it out, it means to give enjoyment, pleasure, or satisfaction to; make glad or contented. So here is the RRV (Rachel’s revised version) The Lord took great pleasure and satisfaction and was made glad to make me His own! How cool is that?
A little further in the Bible study, I read Psalm 18:19, He brought me out into a spacious place, He rescued me because He delighted in me. Delighted in me! Can you imagine that? He rescued me out of alot of bondages because He simply delighted in me. Anytime I hear the word delight, it always brings me back to Zephaniah 3:17, The Lord your God is with you, He is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing. Not only is He pleased with me, He delights in me and sings over me!
What a way to start the day. To know that my Father so delights in me, that I am the apple of His eye is almost too much to comprehend.

Leave a Reply

