Fully Devoted

October 17, 2006 at 9:41 pm (Faith, My ramblings)

I will be speaking at our single adult ministry retreat in a few weeks and am preparing my message and thought I would do a little thinking out loud, right here. The theme of the retreat is how to be a fully devoted follower of Christ as a single adult.
I have been kicking around some ideas but every time I put pen to paper, I feel like the Lord is telling me to scrap it. I don’t want to say the same things about how to accomplish this great feat. We already know that we have to read our Bible, pray about everything, stay pure, feed the Spirit, starve the flesh, serve God, etc, etc, etc. How many times do we need to hear it before it actually sinks in?
How can I get the message across that it requires actually pursuing it? How can I challenge everyone in a fresh way to actually purpose to seek Christ? What can I offer that hasn’t already been preached on? What does it take to fan the flame in hearts to get people on fire?
It’s seems so simple but I can count on 2 hands many of my single friends who struggle with this very issue.
What does it take to be Fully Devoted? I looked up the word devotion in the dictionary and it means an ardent, often selfless affection and dedication to something. I guess that’s where the problem lies, the whole selfless affection part. How do we take ourselves out of the picture? How do we die to the flesh and our selfishness and put on Christ daily to walk the walk?
Ok, I am starting to ramble here. If you have any thoughts, post a comment!

3 Comments

  1. dcoddington said,

    I accepted Christ into my heart when I was almost nine years old. You would probably agree that this was a wise choice. Almost nine years ago I chose to ask my awesome wife, Lana, to marry me. You would probably also agree that this was a wise choice. She said, “Yes” (after she asked if the ring was real). You may debate the wisdom of her choice…but I’m sure glad she said, “Yes”!! About six years ago I made a choice at work that resulted in me getting fired from my job a little more than four years ago. Yes, a choice I made at work got me fired almost two full years after I made it.

    I could go on and on about “big” choices I’ve made and “small” choices I’ve made and I can look back and see direct and very real positive and negative consequences of those choices. I’m sure you could too. And I’m sure that everyone else could as well.

    Here’s the point. Life is short so you better make wise choices. The more that sinks into my head and heart, the more scared I get that I’m wasting my life and the more on-fire I am to be who God wants me to be and do what God wants me to do.

    Ephesians 5:15-17 says, “Therefore be very careful how you live – not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil. Therefore, do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is.”

    Am I making the most of every opportunity God has given me? Am I making the most of every opportunity to be the best husband I can be? To be the best father I can be? To live boldly for Christ at work? To love my neighbor? To lay down my life for my enemies? To bring Heaven to earth?

    We get one chance to live our lives and none of us knows how long we have been given. Life is short so we better make wise choices.

    I don’t know about you but that gets me fired up in a very real and moment-by-moment way.

    I wish I could tell you that I really am making the most of every opportunity. I can’t because I’m not. But I promise you that I am making the most of more opportunities since God revealed this perspective to me.

    Life is short; make wise choices!

    Can you imagine if all of your friends lived with this perspective? Can you imagine if us Christians lived with a truly eternal perspective? Each and every one of us would live radically different lives. And the world would know us by our love. And they would want to be like us. And they would want to be like Christ. And they would want Christ to do for them what He has done for us.

    Resources I’ve found to be particularly helpful on this subject include:
    * “It All Goes Back in the Box” sermon by Tommy Sparger (North Point Church in MO, not Atlanta; available via podcast)
    * “Get a Grip on Time” Sermon by Pastor Dale on 10/1/06
    * “The Best Question Ever” by Andy Stanley
    * “Don’t Waste Your Life” by John Piper
    * “God Wants to Save Christians”, sermon series by Rob Bell (available via Podcast)

    You are an inspiraton, Rachel. Keep pursing the face of Christ! Others will see Him through you.

  2. Sue Tomkins said,

    In a word: “Brokenness”…true brokenness will make a person literally run to the throne room of God.

  3. Anonymous said,

    Remember, His word does not come back void. Your story – His story – is what He requires of you. You just do what He requires of you at the retreat, and let Him take care of the rest. The workers are few, and if you get just one, Praise Him! Your job is to be obedient; His job is to handle all of the stuff you are worrying about. OK? Now go get ’em.

Leave a Reply

