Homework, homework, homework

September 24, 2006 at 11:37 pm (Missions, My ramblings, School)

I have been doing homework for the last 8 hours and my brain has turned to mush! Although being in Bible college has been one of the best experiences of my life, I am glad that I am in my last semester, woohoo! I am taking 3 classes, Kingdom of the Cults, Church History and a Masters level advanced missions course. What was I thinking taking 12 credits? Haha.
It is cool to be able to learn about the Lord and Christianity and I realized that since attending college, I have a real thirst to know stuff. I want to know everything! It amazes me that with my past addictions, God has graciously saved not only me but my brain cells too. It’s so cool to know that He has a plan for my life and He doesn’t waste any part of it, no matter how bad it is. Everything has been redeemed! I am living proof. Hallelujah!
If my High School teachers could see me now, they would probably fall out in disbelief. I never actually won the award for least likely to succeed but I was a close runner up. I hated school, I only went to hang out with friends and socialize. Who would have thought I would be able to maintain a 4.0 in Bible college? My Abba Daddy thought so, that’s who! He saw my body being formed and knew that He had a plan and purpose for my life even though I didn’t figure it out until 5 years ago when I accepted Jesus as the Lord of my life.
Whew, I love talking about Jesus! I get so fired up. Back to the school stuff…
I am actually praying about taking more courses but not in Bible college but taking medical courses to become a certified medical assistant. I know…more school… I am not really concerned about getting the certification though because I am pretty sure that overseas (where I want to go) certification doesn’t matter. They have so many needs that they would take anyone willing to help in the hospitals and clinics. I want to go to Africa, big surprise as my blog is full of Africa, and help in whatever way I can so I think it would be beneficial to have some medical skills. The HIV/AIDS situation has devasted the country and I am tired of complaining about the situation. I am going to do something about it. With God’s help, I will go there and share the love and hope of Jesus with them and try my best to minister to the 42% of the people dying right now.
Last night after church, some of my friends were hanging out at our coffee house which serves Starbucks, man is God good or what? One of the guys there heard me talking about missions, becuase I am always talking about missions, and he informed me that he would never support a person going on a mission trip because it would be nothing more than a paid vacation. I praise God that I am a new creation in Christ cause I was ready to jump out of my seat and….. I couldn’t even say anything because I knew I would say nothing that would honor God at that moment. I used to be one of those people who thought the same thing. Why go overseas when there are starving children here and yada yada yada. I tell you why. I heard a great line from a missionary to India that about sums it up with me, “Why should someone hear the Gospel twice when there are people who haven’t heard it once?” Amen and Amen. I have nothing against evangelizing the US but I wholeheartedly agree with the statement. Especially in light of AIDS, poverty, war and famine that is killing people at an alarming rate.

Hmmm, I started off talking about homework and ending up here again. Imagine that!

Leave a Reply

