Kingdom of the Cults

September 11, 2006 at 12:13 am (My ramblings, School)

I started taking a course on the cults and I am utterly flabbergasted at what I have been reading. If you have not read Walter Martin’s Kingdom of the Cults, I strongly urge you to go get it and read it. In the beginning of the book is a quote that we, as Christians, should take to heart. It states, “A man who will not stand for something is quite likely to fall for almost anything.”
What a true statement! The first chapter begins with the Jehovah’s Witnesses and I was appalled by the things that I read that I clearly did not know they believed.
Today, I read the chapter on Christian Science. If I thought the beliefs of the JW’s were bad, they paled in comparison with those of the Christian Scientists. They don’t believe in evil or hell or that we need salvation because everyone is already saved! What Bible are they reading? I am sitting here gritting my teeth even as I write this because countless people will fall for the many cults that are so called Christian. The only reason I feel compelled to write about this is because it should challenge us to get out there and preach the Gospel!
One of the hardest things I had to read in this book came from a JW. He said it was easy to go door knocking and share his faith and that he loved to challenge Christians because Christians don’t know what they are talking about! He actually said that! He said that so many people claim to be Christians but when he would explain the doctrine of the JW’s, the Christians had no way to refute it. They did not know the Scriptures enough to be able to have a two sided conversation.
I am not telling Christians to go head to head with these ‘door knockers’ and get into heated theological debates. What I am challenging is the need for us to be equipped and to know and be able to represent the God we love and serve. How can we tell people about Him if we don’t even know what we believe?
Everyone is born with an innate desire to want to believe in something. God has made each of us with a hole inside of us that only He can fill. I pray that we will open up our eyes and realize that we are in very perilous times and that we would diligently search the Scriptures daily for truth.
I don’t think I can state it any clearer than Paul did in his letter to Timothy.
2 Timothy 4:2, “Preach the Word; be prepared in season and out of season; correct, rebuke and encourage—with great patience and careful instruction.”

Leave a Reply

