Answering the Call

September 5, 2006 at 12:11 am (Africa, Faith, Missions, My ramblings)

I can’t really pinpoint the exact moment I felt in my heart the desire to go to Africa. I shook it off at first and tried to not think too much about it. The more I tried to push it out of my heart and mind, the more it seemed it be at the forefront. I have been to Mexico and Peru and I loved both countries but I can’t see myself living there. I can picture myself living in Africa though. I would love to live in the orphange and be a “mom” to at least some of the 12 million orphans there.
I am still praying for confirmation from the Lord that this is His will for my life and not just something that I think would be cool to do. It’s so hard because I want to go to so many places. I want to go to India. I want to go to the Czech Republic where I have friends who have given up all to be missionaries there. I want to go to Papau New Guinea and preach to the tribes there. (Side note-that one scares me a little since they cooked and ate the first missionary there!)

I have been going over my finances and with the Lord’s help, I will be totally debt free in about 2 1/2 years. That would be awesome. I feel like the Lord has been preparing me for the last few years to be able to let go of material things. I think back to a time when I had the best of everything. Clothes, cars, homes, everything I had I felt represented my successfulness. It all seems so meaningless to me now. When I see the devastation of poverty and war, it seems almost ridiculous to me that there are so many orphans walking around in so many countries. So many people starving. I read an interview that a missionary had with a young boy who lived in Kenya and they asked him this question, “if you could have just one thing, what would you want?” Do you know what this young man asked for? A shirt. He said, “I would like to have another shirt.” I remember all the times I looked in my drawers or my closet and I thought I had nothing to wear. I have hundreds of pieces of clothing. How could I want one more thing?

I have been in contact with an organization called Children’s Cup and am praying about serving with them in Swaziland and Zimbabwe. They have several Care Points where they feed the orphans and educate them and basically take care of them. Click here to read about what they are doing and if you feel led to contribute to them, you can do that right on the website. Pray for all the missionaries there too.
Lord willing, I will be going in the next 6-9 months to visit and stay with the missionaries. This would be a dream come true because I don’t want to just go on a missions trip to Africa, I want to see how the missionaries live on a daily basis. I want to see Africa from their viewpoint.
If you are reading this, please pray for me. Pray that God would confirm this call in my heart I feel and that I would not go ahead of His perfect timing. Pray for financial provision as well. This will not be an easy task as I will have to raise all my support. It’s almost uncanny though this peace I feel about it. When I first felt Africa stirring in my heart, I immediately thought there is no way I can do this financially. My faith is increaasing on a daiy basis and I know that if I am called to the mission field, God will meet all my needs. I am holding to this Scripture:
1 Corinthians 12:9 “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love Him.”

1 Comment

  1. Dan Ohlerking said,

    that’s EXACTLY the heart i believe a future missionary needs to have. i’m looking forward to seeing what God does with you in the future with africa.

    please be praying for me – i’m heading out to swaziland for a week in a few days.

    i’ll post some pics.

Leave a Reply

