Peru Mission Trip-Final Chapter

August 10, 2006 at 2:15 pm (Faith, Missions, My ramblings, Peru)

Post Trip Wrap Up
This mission trip was about so much more than visiting and ministering to the people in Peru. It was about what God can do with an open and willing heart.
In March, I had my third knee surgery and on the day I returned to work, I was asked to help Pastor Joey lead the mission trip to Peru this year. I had gone last year and since my heart is in missions, I was overjoyed. Within a few weeks, I began to wonder if I had made the right decision. I began to have some serious doubts and I met with Pastor Steve and told him I wasn’t sure if I could do this. I was still having pain in my knee and there were days that I went home and weeped because I couldn’t bear the pain. I continued to pray and seek God for several more weeks and I met with Pastor Joey on several occasions. I shared my fears with him and he prayed with me many times. I will never forget his statement to me about my decision to go or not to go. He said, “The only reason you should not go is because you know God doesn’t want you to go.” How could I argue with that? Another friend of mine asked me a few more questions that really challenged me. He said, “If your knee was not hurting you and if you did not have to lead the team, would you go?” I didn’t even have to think twice about it, of course I would go under those circumstances.
I realized that I was giving in to my fears. Fear of not doing a good job, fear of rejection, fear of failure and so many other things. I made the decision in my heart and mind to go and I praise God that I made the right decision. I would have missed out on so many blessings had I chosen to give in to my fears. Anyone who knows me knows that I don’t like Christian cliches, but this one time I need to quote one of my favorites. It goes like this, God doesn’t call the equipped, He equips the called. I am proof of that because if I thought for a minute that I could do what He did in and through the entire team by myself, I would have fallen flat on my face.

I can honestly say that I have never been more proud of 17 people in my life. These people gave of their lives, finances, vacation time and hearts to go and help fulfill the Great Commission. We came together with one heart, one mind and one purpose to accomplish God’s plans.

Each of our lives will never be the same. Each of us were impacted in ways we would never have imagined. Each of us has drawn closer to our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. It is hard to think back to some of the areas we ministered in and I caught myself wondering why there is such poverty in the world, why so much hurt and pain. Then I remember the answer, sin. Because we want to be like God, knowing good and evil. Because it is so hard to submit our lives to the One who loves us beyond what we can imagine. Because what we want is more important than anything else. Because we want to live in absolute comfort. Because we want to hold on to the things of this world.
My eyes have been opened to my own heart and I pray that I will never, ever forget the images I saw. Images that have kept me up night after night since coming back. Small children with dirt on their faces and lice in their hair, pregnant women living on the streets with nothing, people sleeping under a bridge, abused women with so much hurt and pain, people who have not been outside their homes in years that received wheelchairs and freedom and the many missionaries that have given up all to follow Christ and share His love and His hope in a place that seems to have nothing. God is there, in Peru. He is working out His perfect plan in His perfect timing.

Romans 10:14-15, “How, then, can they call on the one they have not believed in? And how can they believe in the one of whom they have not heard? And how can they hear without someone preaching to them? And how can they preach unless they are sent? As it is written, ‘How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!'”

Leave a Reply

